Monday, 22 Jul 2024

USAV Sitting Players, Coaches Recognized by WPV

On International World ParaVolley Day, World ParaVolley celebrated the achievements of several USA Volleyball sitting players and coaches who have made significant contributions to the sport over the years. This recognition highlights their dedication and impact on the development and success of sitting volleyball. Let’s take a closer look at the individuals who were honored.

Recognized Players and Coaches

Women’s sitting players Lora Webster, Katie Holloway, and Heather Erickson, along with men’s sitting players Eric Duda and Brent Rasmussen, were acknowledged for their outstanding contributions as players. These individuals have consistently demonstrated their skills and prowess on the court, representing the USA with pride and excellence.

In addition to the players, two coaching legends were recognized for their invaluable contributions. Bill Hamiter, the current head coach for the U.S. Women’s Sitting National Team, and Mike Hulett, who formed the U.S. Women’s Sitting Team, have played instrumental roles in the growth and success of sitting volleyball. Their expertise and guidance have led to remarkable achievements, including Paralympic gold and silver medals.

Furthermore, John Kessel was recognized for his contributions in the development, coaching, technical officiating, and governance categories. Joe Campbell, a long-time World ParaVolley referee and leader in the PanAmerica zone, was also acknowledged for his years of dedication and service.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  USA Volleyball Skills Contest

Celebrating the First International World ParaVolley Day

This recognition ceremony took place on the first-ever International World ParaVolley Day. The World ParaVolley board of directors established this annual celebration to honor the countless individuals who have devoted themselves to the development of sitting volleyball over the past 40 years. Their efforts have shaped the sport and propelled it to new heights, culminating in its inclusion in ten Paralympic Games since 1980.


Q: Who were the recognized sitting volleyball players?
A: The recognized players included Lora Webster, Katie Holloway, Heather Erickson, Eric Duda, and Brent Rasmussen.

Q: Which coaches were honored?
A: The coaching legends recognized were Bill Hamiter and Mike Hulett.

Q: What is International World ParaVolley Day?
A: It is an annual celebration established by the World ParaVolley board of directors to recognize the contributions of individuals to the development of sitting volleyball.

Q: How many Paralympic Games have featured sitting volleyball?
A: Sitting volleyball has been included in ten Paralympic Games since 1980.


The recognition of USA Volleyball sitting players and coaches by World ParaVolley on International World ParaVolley Day is a testament to their hard work, dedication, and significant contributions to the sport. Through their skill and determination, these individuals have elevated sitting volleyball to new heights on both national and international stages. Their achievements inspire future generations of athletes and serve as a reminder of the power of perseverance and passion. As we celebrate their accomplishments, let us continue to support and promote the growth of sitting volleyball around the world.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Women’s Sitting Sweeps Peru in Parapan Am Semi

For more information and updates on USA Volleyball sitting players and coaches, visit